The School Library Association in the Republic of Ireland (hereafter referred to as SLARI) is a voluntary organisation. SLARI was set up in 1995 as a branch of the UK based School Library Association. It was ratified as a national branch of SLA in 2001. SLARI offers support and information to all those involved in school libraries at both primary and post-primary level.

SLARI Policy

In 2004, SLARI produced the policy statement “The School Library in the 21st Century: an Agenda for Change”. SLARI has called for:

  • the establishment of a comprehensive system of school libraries throughout Ireland
  • ongoing public funding to support a high standard of school library provision
  • access to the services of a professionally qualified librarian for all primary and post-primary schools

In 2016, our new policy was ratified: SLARI POLICY STATEMENT 2016


Officers and Committee


Joseph Peelo, JCSP Librarian, Kylemore College, Kylemore Road, Ballyfermot, Dublin 10

E-mail: chairperson@slari.ie


Hazel Scanlon, Librarian, Mount Sackville Secondary School, Chapelizod, Dublin 20

E-mail: secretary@slari.ie


Siobhain Boyce, JCSP Librarian, CBS St James’ Street, Dublin 8

E-mail: treasurer@slari.ie

Other SLARI Committee Members

  • Annie Brady, JCSP Librarian, St Paul’s CBS, North Brunswick St., Dublin 7
  • Ciara Flannery, School Librarian, Holy Child Killiney, Military Road, Killiney, Co. Dublin
  • Joan Kelly, School Librarian, The King’s Hospital, Palmerstown, Dublin 20
  • Sarah Mc Allister, JCSP Librarian, Mount Seskin Community College, Jobstown, Tallaght, Dublin 24
  • Breege O’Brien, Retired teacher and library post-holder, Coláiste Pobail Acla, Polranny, Achill, Co. Mayo