Officers and Committee


Lorraine Marrey, Manager, Creative Arts and Digital Learning Centre, Blackrock College, Rock Road, Blackrock, Co. Dublin

E-mail: chairperson@slari.ie


Doreen Lundon, JCSP Librarian, Mount Seskin Community College, Jobstown, Tallaght, Dublin 24

E-mail: secretary@slari.ie


Annie Brady, JCSP Librarian, St Paul’s CBS , Brunswick Street, Dublin 7

E-mail: treasurer@slari.ie

Other SLARI Committee Members

  • Joan Kelly, School Librarian, The King’s Hospital, Palmerstown, Dublin 20
  • Siobhain Boyce, JCSP Librarian, CBS James Street, Basin Lane, Dublin
  • Katherine Ryan, School Librarian, St. Andrew’s College, Booterstown Avenue, Blackrock, Co. Dublin


The School Library Association in the Republic of Ireland (hereafter referred to as SLARI) is a voluntary organisation. SLARI was set up in 1995 as a branch of the UK based School Library Association. It was ratified as a national branch of SLA in 2001. SLARI offers support and information to all those involved in school libraries at both primary and post-primary level.

SLARI Policy

In 2004, SLARI produced the policy statement “The School Library in the 21st Century: an Agenda for Change”. SLARI has called for:

  • the establishment of a comprehensive system of school libraries throughout Ireland
  • ongoing public funding to support a high standard of school library provision
  • access to the services of a professionally qualified librarian for all primary and post-primary schools

In 2016, our new policy was ratified: SLARI POLICY STATEMENT 2016